HOME : HISTORY
   
 
   



 
 
A Site that has been Marked by History
 

The site where the Bonsecours Market would eventually be built was at the centre of the social and cultural activities of the colony, both under the French regime, and later on, after the Conquest. Numerous prominent personalities have made it their home beginning with Charles Le Moyne de Longueuil. In her private hotel, Madame Bégon, a renowned woman of letters, held court; her counsel was widely sought by all the VIP's that would come through her front door day in and day out.

François Bigot, the last Intendent of New France lived there from 1749 until his return to France, in 1760.

John Johnson, an ardent loyalist, Superintendent General and Inspector General of the Six-Nations Indians, as well as the Indians in the Province of Quebec, amongst other positions, bought the residence in 1796 and resold it to John Molson, in 1815.

This pioneer of steam navigation along the Saint Lawrence River, who longed to have access to the river even built a pier there.

Molson expanded and refurbished the Mansion House Hotel. The site quickly became the Beaver Club's meeting place of choice and was the recipient of 7,000 books from a "group of civic-minded gentlemen". After a fire, Molson built the New Mansion House, which was subsequently called the British American Hotel, which in turn was destroyed by fire in 1833.

The site also played host to the Théâtre Royal where Charles Dickens and his band of amateur actors staged a production. This theatre carried on its activities for about twenty years before being demolished. Its ruins remain buried beneath the foundation of today's Bonsecours Market.

John Molson's son sold back to the City the major portion of the land that would be used for the establishment of the new Bonsecours Market, whose construction began in 1844. The Public Market was inaugurated in January 1847. The refurbishment of the market's interior, under the direction of architect George Browne, continued up until 1852.


Top of Page

 
 
A Monument that Proudly Bears the Colours of a Nation
 

After a call for tenders, the Municipal Council chose the design submitted by William Footner. In his presentation, the latter insisted upon the location of the new building and upon the symbolism of its shapes. He wrote that in order that "the plans provide the means to build an edifice that was appropriate for the circumstances, it would have to bear the colours of the nation".

Indeed, he asserted the importance of establishing a monument that "would confirm the fine taste and the magnanimity of the citizens of Montreal". The majesty of the building must... "impress upon the traveller's mind an overwhelming image of the beauty and importance of the flourishing City of Montreal". In this manner, he wrote in his presentation, "the shores of the Saint Lawrence shall be graced with a building worthy of this river that ceaselessly shares its wealth with us".

"Architecture in Canada, he said, must only aim towards that which possesses a dignified grandeur, a modesty that is attractive, a balance in its proportions, and finally a harmony in all its parts, that is a prerequisite for all great works of art and literature".

Footner's contribution is moreover highlighted in an article published by the magazine "Award" that recognizes the Bonsecours Market as one of the ten major achievements in the History of Canadian Architecture.

Top of Page

 
The Marché Bonsecours "meat market" during the 19th Century
Photo : Ville de Montréal


The Marché Bonsecours and the Notre-Dame du Bonsecours Chapel, at the very heart of Montreal's History
Print : Ville de Montréal
 
   
The Bonsecours Market, at the Heart of Canadian History
 

The increasing industrialization of Montreal provoked a sharp increase in her population and the City Fathers wished to endow the city with sizeable halls which could accommodate and entertain large crowds. Meanwhile, various proposals to the effect that Montreal be made the home to Canada's Parliament caused the civic administration to ask the architects to design areas in the top floors to accommodate gatherings of people for the purposes of public readings, theatre and music, as well as to make room for offices.

These projections were borne out, although only for a short period of time. First of all, the colonial government had already rented the Sainte-Anne Market, which had been recently renovated, to temporarily house the Parliament of the United Canada.

Subsequently, when Tory rioters burned down the Sainte-Anne Market Parliament Building on April 25, 1849, the Bonsecours Market was thus admirably positioned to have its turn to accommodate the Parliament. Protected by troops with fixed bayonets, the Members of Parliament sat at the Bonsecours Market from April 26 to May 7,1849. The parliamentary session continued until May 30 in a building in Place Dalhousie belonging to Moses Judas Hayes.

Top of Page

 
A long tradition of banquets at the Marché Bonsecours
Photo: Archives Nationales du Québec


Political Activity at the Marché Bonsecours
Photo : Ville de Montréal
   
Bonsecours Market, a Catalyst for Montrealers' Civic and Cultural Activities
 

The Bonsecours Market also housed Montreal City Hall for more than twenty-five years. In 1852, the Municipal Council sat for the first time in a building that belonged to the municipality. It only left in 1878 to move into a brand new City Hall on the site of the present-day City Hall, located on Notre-Dame Street.

It is interesting to note that the City Hall was also occasionally used as an exhibition hall and to host various festivities. In order to meet the increasing demand, the Council mandated the architect George Browne to design a concert hall in the East Wing of the building, the "City Concert Hall", as well as an adjoining banquet hall. The concert hall, which had an area of over 900 square metres, was designed in a Victorian style and did not have any rivals for about ten years. Mayor Wilson described it as being able to accommodate 3 000 people.

The Bonsecours Market was the principal public market in Montreal for more than one hundred years, and as such constituted a genuine reflection of the social and economic evolution of the country, as the use of its halls so amply testify.

The Canadian Institute was the very first lessee, when they organized a huge Saint-Jean-Baptiste celebration on June 24,1846, even before all the work to complete the building had been finished. It rapidly became the preferred showcase for Canadian industrial production. In 1850, a first Provincial Fair was held there, which was also the very first public exposition of manufactured and farm products in Canada. This exhibition was where participants were chosen to attend the World's Fair in London.

After the inauguration of the City Hall, on January 13,1852, the municipal firefighting companies inaugurated the new hall by organizing a Benefit for the Firefighters Benevolent Association for Widows and Orphans. It was also at the Bonsecours Market that the renowned Train Festival was held in 1856.

The jubilee of His Eminence Bourget was celebrated there - as was a banquet in honour of the troops who had served in the Crimean War. Often refurbished, a police gymnasium was set up within its walls and for long stretches of time, its large enclosed areas were used as an armoury, as well as a place to train the militia and the army.

Exhibitions, conferences and sound and light shows follow on each other's heels within the Market. The farmers market evolved considerably over the years in tune with the technological advances of the times, the evolution of the public's likes and dislikes and manifold demographic transformations. When it was closed in 1963, it was still considered to be the "central" market, the point of contact between Montreal and its countryside.

The construction of massive grain silos at the river's edge produced a certain loss of prestige for a short time, but their demolition in the 1980s gave back a precious point of reference to the citizens of Montreal.

Now completely restored and renovated to meet the needs of the future, the Bonsecours Market turns over a new page in its unfolding story.

Top of Page

ACCUEIL : HISTORIQUE
 
 
 



 
Un lieu marqué par l'histoire
 

Sous le régime français, tout comme après la Conquête, le site où sera érigé le Marché Bonsecours était au centre de la vie sociale et culturelle de la colonie. De nombreuses personnalités y ont résidé à commencer par Charles Le Moyne de Longueuil. Dans son hôtel particulier, Madame Bégon, épistolière célèbre, tenait salon; son avis était fort recherché et tous les notables franchissaient sa porte un jour ou l'autre.

François Bigot, dernier intendant de Nouvelle-France y habita à compter de 1749, jusqu'à son retour en France en 1760.

John Johnson, ardent loyaliste, surintendant général et inspecteur général des Indiens des Six-Nations et de ceux de la province de Québec, entre autres occupations, acheta la résidence en 1796 et la revendit à John Molson en 1815.

Ce pionnier de la navigation à vapeur sur le Saint-Laurent, qui convoitait un accès au fleuve, y construisit même un quai.

Molson agrandit et aménagea l'Hôtel Mansion House. L'endroit devint vite le lieu de réunion du Beaver Club et reçut un dépôt de 7000 volumes par un " groupe de messieurs à l'esprit civique ". À la suite d'un incendie, Molson construisit le New Mansion House, ensuite appelé le British American Hotel, qui fut incendié en 1833.

Le site accueillit aussi le Théâtre Royal où se produisit Charles Dickens et sa troupe de comédiens amateurs. Ce théâtre a survécu une vingtaine d'années avant d'être démoli. Ses vestiges sont enterrés sous les fondations du Marché Bonsecours.

John Molson fils revendit à la Ville le principal terrain qui servit à l'implantation du nouveau Marché Bonsecours, dont la construction débuta en 1844 . Le Marché public fut inauguré en janvier 1847. Les travaux d'aménagement intérieur, sous la direction de l'architecte George Browne, se poursuivirent jusqu'en 1852.




Le Marché Bonsecours, un lieu d'échanges privilégiés depuis 150 ans
Photo : Ville de Montréal


Haut de page

 
 
 
Un monument qui porte l'empreinte du pays
 

C'est à la suite d'un appel d'offres que le Conseil municipal choisit les plans proposés par William Footner. Dans sa présentation, ce dernier insistait sur la localisation du nouveau bâtiment et sur la symbolique de ses formes. Pour que les dessins permettent d'ériger une "bâtisse convenable à la situation", écrivait-il, il fallait qu'ils "portent l'empreinte du pays ".

Il lui importait, en effet, qu'un monument soit "fondé pour prouver le bon goût et la libéralité des citoyens de Montréal". Par la majesté de l'édifice, il fallait "... produire sur l'esprit du voyageur une grande idée de la beauté, et de l'importance de la ville florissante de Montréal". Ainsi, écrivait-il dans sa présentation, " les bords du Saint-Laurent seront ornés d'un édifice digne de ce fleuve qui nous apporte sans cesse des richesses ".

" L'architecture en Canada, disait-il, ne doit aspirer qu'à ce qui est d'une grandeur imposante, à cette simplicité qui plaît, à cette concordance dans les proportions, et enfin à cette harmonie dans les parties, qui est si nécessaire dans les ouvrages d'art, comme dans les ouvrages de littérature. "

La contribution de Footner est d'ailleurs soulignée dans un article du magazine " Award " qui reconnaît le Marché Bonsecours comme l'une des dix grandes réalisations de l'architecture canadienne.

Haut de page

 
Le "comptoir des viandes" du Marché Bonsecours au 19e siècle
Photo : Ville de Montréal


Le Marché Bonsecours et la Chapelle Notre-Dame du Bonsecours, au coeur de l'histoire
Gravure : Ville de Montréal
 
   
Au coeur de l'histoire canadienne
 

L'industrialisation croissante de Montréal provoqua une nette augmentation de la population et les édiles municipaux voulurent doter la ville de grandes salles capables d'accueillir et de divertir les foules . Par ailleurs, diverses représentations à l'effet d'implanter à Montréal le Parlement canadien poussèrent l'administration à demander aux architectes de prévoir aux étages supérieurs l'aménagement d'espaces de rassemblement à des fins de lecture, de théâtre, de musique et de bureaux.

Ces prédictions se réalisèrent, quoique brièvement. Tout d'abord, le gouvernement colonial avait déjà loué le Marché Sainte-Anne, nouvellement rénové, pour loger temporairement le Parlement du Canada-Uni.

Par la suite, lorsque les émeutiers torries incendièrent le Parlement du Marché Sainte-Anne le 25 avril 1849, le Marché Bonsecours était donc tout désigné pour loger à son tour le Parlement. Protégés par la troupe, baïonnette au canon, les députés siégèrent au Marché Bonsecours, du 26 avril au 7 mai 1849. Les travaux de la session parlementaire se poursuivirent jusqu'au 30 mai, dans un édifice de la place Dalhousie appartenant à Moses Judas Hayes .

Haut de page

 
La tradition des banquets au Marché Bonsecours
Photo: Archives Nationales du Québec


La vie politique au Marché Bonsecours
Photo : Ville de Montréal
 
   
Moteur de la vie civique et culturelle des Montréalais
 

Le Marché Bonsecours abrita aussi l'Hôtel de Ville de Montréal pendant plus de vingt-cinq ans . En 1852, le Conseil municipal siégea pour la première fois dans un bâtiment appartenant à la municipalité. Il ne le quitta qu'en 1878 pour prendre possession d'un nouvel Hôtel de Ville sur le site de l'Hôtel de Ville actuel , rue Notre-Dame.

Il est intéressant de noter que l'Hôtel de Ville servit aussi de salle d'exposition et de festivités à l'occasion. Pour répondre à la demande croissante, le Conseil mandata l'architecte George Browne d'aménager une salle de concert dans l'aile est du bâtiment, " The City Concert Hall ", ainsi qu'une salle de banquet attenante. La salle de concert, d'une superficie dépassant 900 mètres carrés, était de style victorien et demeura sans rivale pendant une dizaine d'années. Le maire Wilson l'a décrite comme pouvant accueillir 3 000 personnes.

Principal marché public de Montréal pendant plus d'une centaine d'années, le Marché Bonsecours fut un véritable miroir de l'évolution sociale et économique du pays, comme en témoigne l'utilisation de ses salles.

L'Institut Canadien en fut le premier locataire en organisant, avant même la fin des travaux, une grande célébration de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste le 24 juin 1846. Il devint rapidement la vitrine de prédilection de la production industrielle canadienne. On y tint, en 1850, la première exposition provinciale, qui fut en même temps la première exposition publique de produits manufacturiers et agricoles au Canada. Cette exposition servit à choisir les participants à l'exposition universelle de Londres.

Le lendemain de l'inauguration de l'Hôtel de Ville , le 13 janvier 1852, les compagnies de pompiers de la ville inaugurèrent la nouvelle salle en donnant une fête au bénéfice de l'Association bienveillante des Pompiers pour les Veuves et les Orphelins. C'est aussi au Marché Bonsecours qu'on présenta le fameux Festival des chemins de fer, en 1856.

On y fêta le jubilé de Mgr Bourget . On y tint un banquet en l'honneur des troupes ayant participé à la guerre de Crimée. Souvent réaménagé, on y installa un gymnase pour la police et on réserva pendant de longues périodes ses grands espaces à la milice et à l'armée, à des fins d'entraînement et d'armurerie.

Expositions, conférences et panoramas (son et lumière) se succédèrent dans les salles. Le marché agricole se développa au cours des années en fonction des progrès technologiques, de l'évolution des goûts de la population et des bouleversements démographiques. À sa fermeture, en 1963, il était encore considéré comme le marché central, le point de contact entre Montréal et ses campagnes.

La construction des silos à grain en bordure du fleuve lui fit perdre pour un temps un certain prestige, mais leur démolition dans les années 1980 permit à la population de retrouver un point de référence précieux.

Maintenant complètement restauré et rénové pour tenir compte des besoins de l'avenir, le Marché Bonsecours entame une nouvelle page de son histoire.

Haut de page